Thoroughly soaked!

I went rowing last night in a quad, and for some reason royally screwed up repeatedly. I kept over-feathering the blade according to the bow man. We were doing fartleks, this is 30 seconds hard, 30 seconds easy, 1 minute hard, 1 minute easy, 90 seconds hard, 90 seconds easy and then back down the pyramid. I just couldn’t cope with the rate and speed the boat was moving at. On the last piece the stroke man recognised I was struggling with the rate and kept it lower, and I was fine on that. A bit messy still, but I wasn’t catching crabs or over feathering. The boat was still moving pretty fast, but I had that little bit longer to get myself organised.

After the final piece we paddled back to the boat house concentrating on technique and that went really well. I was trying to not bury the blades as much, which in turn made the extraction that much easier. I was also squaring earlier, which made a huge difference, I now know what people mean when they talked about “locking-on”. I felt like I was making the boat move faster from the very start of the drive.

I really felt like packing it in during the hard pieces where I was having real problems, but the last piece and the paddling helped me a lot. I actually got something useful from that.

So, hopefully, with more sessions like that in the coming months my technique will start improving quickly.

Leave a Reply

