Speeding up Windows network browsing

I have always used the MACHINENAME way of traversing my local network. Slowness is just something I assumed came as part of the deal with windows networking, until I did a quick google and found out that windows will look for any shared printers and scheduled tasks. Personally, I don’t want this as I have a networked printer with it’s own built-in server, and I use remote desktop to manage any scheduled tasks. So, I’ve now turned those options off and my network browsing is instantaneous!

I cannot remember where I found the registry way of doing it, but you basically you need to delete a couple of entries here:-

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionExplorerRemoteComputerNameSpace

There are two entries here

Key Use
{2227A280-3AEA-1069-A2DE-08002B30309D} Look for printers
{D6277990-4C6A-11CF-8D87-00AA0060F5BF} Look for scheduled tasks

I have removed both, but it’s up to you to decide which you need, if any.

Leave a Reply

