Pleasant Paddle

At the rowing club last night I ended up going out for a paddle and a few technical exercises in a 4+ after I’d done my 3×8′ pieces (r24,26,24) on the ergo.

Since it wasn’t part of our training schedule we pretty much did what we liked, it made a nice change to not be doing a piece out on the water and being able to just concentrate on technique. I sat at stroke, a first for me. I did let the rate creep up a bit from time to time, but it was nice to be able to set the pace. I’m told that a paddle is normally at a rate of around 16, I think I was rating at about 22-24.

The boat ran really smoothly for saying it was the first time we’d been out together as a crew. Time on the river can only help things, so hopefully we’ll get more sessions like that in now that the light stays with us later into the evening.

Leave a Reply

