Automatically Adding Entity Framework Config Classes to the ModelBuilder

I should start off by saying this isn’t my code, I copied it from somewhere, but I cannot remember where. So, if you know send me a comment and I’ll update this post accordingly.

One of my pet peeves with entity framework code first, is having to add all my config classes to the modelBuilder within my context, like so….

public class MyContext : DbContext
{
    protected override void OnModelCreating(DbModelBuilder modelBuilder)
    {
        modelBuilder.Configurations.Add(new UserConfig());
        modelBuilder.Configurations.Add(new TitleConfig());
        modelBuilder.Configurations.Add(new UserTitleConfig());
    }
}

But that’s a real PITA. I don’t want to have to remember to add every config class in that method every time I extend my model. It also starts to become untidy very quickly.

namespace MyProject
{
    public class MyContext : DbContext
    {
        protected override void OnModelCreating(DbModelBuilder modelBuilder)
        {
            base.OnModelCreating(modelBuilder);

            Assembly.GetExecutingAssembly().GetTypes()
                .Where(type => type.Namespace == "MyProject.Config")
                .ToList()
                .ForEach(type =>
                {
                    dynamic instance = Activator.CreateInstance(type);
                    modelBuilder.Configurations.Add(instance);
                });
        }
    }
}

That’s better! Now I can forget about that minor detail and get on with creating my model. I’ve used the namespace of the type to limit the scope to just my “config” folder. You may want to do it some other way or even choose not to limit it in any way.

EDIT (13 Dec 2011)

I have since found a better way of filtering the types to load …

    .Where(type => type.BaseType != null &&
        type.BaseType.IsGenericType &&
        type.BaseType.GetGenericTypeDefinition() == typeof (EntityTypeConfiguration<>))
One response to “Automatically Adding Entity Framework Config Classes to the ModelBuilder

  1. Pingback: antony_scott » Blog Archive » Automatically Adding Entity Framework Config Classes to the Model Builder (Version 2)

Leave a Reply

