Standing up to work: Day 1

Today was my first full working day using my shiny new sit/stand desk. I’ve decided to (try and) keep a diary of my experiences using it.

After I got it all set up last week I have used it in short spells, up to an hour at a time, totalling 4-5 hours of use. Perhaps that has stood (no pun intended) me in good stead for the coming onslaught to my legs that is standing up all day (or most of it). Historically I have been seated for most of the day, only getting up to pay a visit to the fridge/freezer/kettle! So, this could be interesting.

08:45 – starting my first “work” day with the new desk

13:15 – lunch time and my legs are starting to ache, but I’m eating my lunch while standing and reading stuff on my screens

15:47 – feet are a bit hot and my knees ache

16:57 – knees/legs are aching too much now. I’ve adjusted the desk to a height of 71cm and am now sitting down

18:04 – getting frustrated with a complicated bit of code, so I’ve decided to stand up to work through it.

18:30 – no joy on the code, so calling it quits for now

21:58 – i need to get that code sorted so I’m working again (and standing)

23:15 – definitely calling it a day now

Standing Total = 9:29 (8:12 + 1:17)

I think that’s possibly the longest I’ve ever stood up! Although to be fair I was leaning on the desk quite a lot. I’m finding that I tend to use one leg as my main support and swap legs quite often. I also adjust my stance quite regularly from (as my 2 year old’s football coach would say) “standing like a soldier” to “standing like a star”. Although, I don’t do the hand movements!

Leave a Reply

